Review of Communication Research (RCR) and its publisher, the International Society for Interdisciplinary Communication Studies, are committed to open-access science. We believe that scholars and students from low-income countries or small academic institutions as well as citizens not adscripted to a research institution should have access to scientific knowledge. In this sense, it is of special interest that literature reviews are open access since those articles review the state of knowledge about a topic at a specific moment in time.

RCR has grown and has fixed costs that must be covered to keep our articles open access. For example, we need to pay collaborators for their work in the publication process (e.g., website and php update, technical maintenance, article production, DOI registration). Therefore, RCR has started to charge for production to keep all its content open access. The processing charge is currently 300 EU (Value-Added Tax, VAT, included) + 10 EU for the PayPal commission. The amount in USD is 340 + 10 for the PayPal commission. Our production charge is valid for the manuscripts submitted during 2021 and 2022.

We try to keep the processing charge as low as possible. In fact, other open-access journals in the Communication field charge between 700 and 800 USD, VAT excluded, when the articles they publish have half or one-third of the length of the articles we publish. Publishing a longer article involves more effort for the editorial and technical staff.

The production charge is payable upon acceptance of the manuscript for publication.

Also, consider that you can ask us to transfer you back the 25% of the production charges (in which case we will pay the bank/PayPal commission) if at least 25 documents cite your paper in Scopus in the following four years. We must exclude the documents you authored from the list to avoid fostering unethical behavior. In case the number of citations of your article is close to the threshold, write to us and we will study your case!

If the fee is expensive for you and you do not qualify for a discount or a waiver (read below about it), write to us and tell us your case before submitting the manuscript. We may do a special discount or waive the fee! contact@rcommunicationr.org


Check below if you are eligible for an automatic discount:

1.- Members of the Editorial Board get a 100% discount.

2.- Ad-hoc reviewers get a 25% discount for the first published article and 50% for the second. If you have reviewed more than two manuscripts, you can ask for a 50% discount for the first published article. If you are a frequent reviewer, you can ask the editor to be part of the Editorial Board and get a 100% discount as a member of the Editorial Board.

3.- Open-peer reviewers get a 10% discount if at least one review is considered useful for the improvement of the paper by an RCR editor. The discount will be 15% if two or more reviews have been considered useful by an editor. In the latter case, you can ask to be invited as an ad-hoc reviewer, with its associated discounts.

4.- Scholars from low-income countries get special discounts or a waiver for production charges.

4a.- Articles with corresponding authors from the following countries get a 50% discount:

Algeria, Antigua and Barbuda, Armenia, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Botswana, Cook Islands, Dominica, Egypt, El Salvador, Fiji, Gabon, Georgia, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Jamaica, Jordan, Libya, Maldives, Mauritius, Mongolia, Morocco, Namibia, Nauru, Nigeria, Niue, Pakistan, Palau, Paraguay, Saint Helena, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Seychelles, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Turkey, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Viet Nam, West Bank and Gaza Strip.

4b.- Articles with corresponding authors from the following countries get a 100% discount:

Afghanistan, Albania, Angola, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Cuba, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Iran, Iraq, Kenya, Kiribati, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Lesotho, Liberia, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Micronesia (Federated States of), Montenegro, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Papua New Guinea, Republic of Moldova, Rwanda, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Serbia, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tokelau, Tonga, Tunisia, Tuvalu, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.